Cruz, Statewide Republicans Win but Texas Takes Big Hits

November 7, 2018
Topic: Elections

Election Day 2018 saw some important victories for faith, family and freedom in Texas, including U.S. Senator Ted Cruz’s victory over Beto O’Rourke, but Texas also took a couple hits. Almost 70% of Texas Values Action endorsed candidates won up and down the ballot, but several down ballot State Senate, State House, and Judicial races were flipped by pro-abortion, pro-LGBT Democratic candidates.

As we look forward to the start of the 2019 Texas Legislative Session in January, we are grateful for leaders like Gov. Greg Abbott, Lt Gov. Dan Patrick and Attorney General Ken Paxton, but will miss several of our Faith and Family Champions in the Texas House and Senate like Konni Burton, Don Huffines, and Matt Rinaldi.

Now, more than ever, is the time to stand together with pro-faith and family candidates. With some key races being lost in the State House and Senate, moderate Republicans and liberal Democrats are ready to radically change public policy at the Texas Capitol and transform our shared Texas values.

Pro-family conservatives will need to stand strong and know that we are with them. They will be under immense pressure to cave, and will take many more hits before it’s all said and done. They need our support, encouragement, prayers, and action. We are not giving up this fight. We will continue to push forward and be faithful to our calling. Stand with us.

Jonathan Saenz, President of Texas Values Action said “Shots have been fired, but the battle is not over. This just means no one can stand on the sidelines, every Texan that cares about Faith, Family, and Freedom must do something now. Donate your time, talent or treasure today. We look forward to continuing the fight for faith, family and freedom in Texas.”

Full list of Texas Values Action endorsed candidates who won:

Governor: Greg Abbott
Lt. Governor: Dan Patrick
Attorney General: Ken Paxton
Agriculture Commissioner: Sid Miller
Comptroller: Glenn Hegar
Supreme Court of Texas, Position 2: Jimmy Blacklock
Supreme Court of Texas, Position 4: John Devine
Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 8: Michelle Slaughter

U.S. Senate: Ted Cruz
U.S. Representative, District 3: Van Taylor
U.S. Representative, District 21: Chip Roy

Texas Senate
District 2: Bob Hall
District 7: Paul Bettencourt
District 8: Angela Paxton
District 9: Kelly Hancock
District 17: Joan Huffman
District 25: Donna Campbell
District 30: Pat Fallon

Texas House
District 3: Cecil Bell
District 5: Cole Hefner
District 6: Matt Schaefer
District 15: Steve Toth
District 19: James White
District 23: Mayes Middleton
District 24: Greg Bonnen
District 26: Rick Miller
District 60: Mike Lang
District 61: Phil King
District 66: Matt Shaheen
District 67: Jeff Leach
District 68: Drew Springer
District 69: James Frank
District 70: Scott Sanford
District 73: Kyle Biedermann
District 89: Candy Noble
District 91: Stephanie Klick
District 92: Jonathan Stickland
District 93: Matt Krause
District 94: Tony Tinderholt
District 96: Bill Zedler
District 106: Jared Patterson
District 128: Briscoe Cain
District 129: Dennis Paul
District 130: Tom Oliverson
District 138: Dwayne Bohac
District 150: Valoree Swanson

Other Endorsements
Montgomery County Judge: Mark Keough
Collin County Judge: Chris Hill

Share this: